Arusha, May 7, 2012 (FH) – Nine judges elected to serve on the International Residual Mechanism (IRM) for the UN's criminal tribunals were on Monday sworn in by IRM Registrar John Hocking of Australia in Arusha.

0 min 50Approximate reading time

All nine judges are currently serving at the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR). They are Florence Rita Arrey (Cameroon), Solomy Balungi Bossa (Uganda), Vagn Joensen (Denmark),Gberdao Kam (Burkina Faso) and Joseph Masache (Tanzania), Seon Park (Republic of Korea), Mparany Rajohnson (Madagascar), Lee Muthoga (Kenya) and William Hussein Sekule (Tanzania).

IRM President Theodor Meron was also present at the swearing in ceremony.

The IRM is to have two divisions, one in Arusha for the ICTR and one in The Hague for the International Criminal Tribunal for former Yugoslavia (ICTY). The Arusha division is due to start working July 1, 2012, while the one for the ICTY is set to begin one year later.

The swearing in ceremony completes the set up of the administrative structure of IRM which also includes Hassan Bubacar Jallow of the Gambia as Prosecutor. Jallow is also Prosecutor of the ICTR.

The main tasks of the IRM will be to oversee implementation of prison sentences, witness protection and support, cooperation with national jurisdictions, management of the archives and tracking down the remaining fugitives. The ICTR also has the difficult task of finding host countries for acquitted persons.